Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl… Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Ah! I’ve fallen behind on my reviews! I blame being sick this past week. It’s hard to read or write when your head feels like mush. But at least I get to jump back in with a book like Cinder. I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I got a glimpse of the cover, way before it was due to be released. I’ve always been a fan of fairy tale retellings and this one certainly doesn’t disapoint.

The premise for Cinder is familiar and yet completely new. There is a girl and a prince and a really mean stepmother, but there are also moon people, cyborgs and androids. Did I mention the MOON PEOPLE?

In this version of events our Cinderella is Cinder, a teenage girl who happens to be the best mechanic in New Beijing. Her life is far from perfect. In addition to being a cyborg (cyborgs are looked down upon as less than human in this society) Cinder also has to deal with her nasty stepmother, who claims all her earnings and pretty much controls her life. But Cinder’s world begins to change when the dashing Prince Kai enters her shop.

This is a Cinderella story, but it’s also so much more! Not only to you have the handsome prince and the ball, you’ve got a deadly plague, an evil queen, and futuristic world politics. I’ll admit that I saw the big plot twist coming from a mile away, but I’m okay with that. I don’t really expect any big surprises when a classic is being retold.

You also get to spend some quality time with Prince Kai, which I really liked. There’s not a lot of time for lead up to the romance aspect (though that’s really not the only focus), so getting to know him beyond just Cinder’s viewpoint makes it feel less sudden.

This was a really fast read for me. It’s over 300 pages and I read it in the span of one afternoon. I think it went so quickly because the story itself moves along very fast. Though I didn’t feel like the plot was lacking, I wouldn’t have minded the book being longer to flesh our a few more details. It’s an interesting world to spend time in.

I wish I’d been able to get to this review sooner because I feel like there was more I wanted to say, but I can’t remember now. In any case, I can’t wait for the next book!

Cinder on Goodreads & Amazon

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

